Some Books I’ve Been Reading

Mostly I’ve been reading student essays and doing research on retirement, but I have squeezed in some books. Among them:

A World Without You by Beth Revis

This one was a YA recommendation from a student. I enjoyed reading it and recommend it with the caveat that it is not entirely polished writing. Especially at the beginning, there were a few redundancies that should have been edited out. I had an issue with the epilogue that I won’t talk about for fear of spoilers, but I think it should have ended before that. Think Steven Spielberg… if he just ended his movies about ten minutes sooner, they would all be better. That’s about how this book was. Still, it was fun if you’re looking for something entertaining.

*I bought this book on the Kindle because I couldn’t find it at either of my local library systems and my student really wanted me to read it. In retrospect, I should have borrowed it from her.

They Can’t Kill Us All”: Ferguson, Baltimore, and a New Era in America’s Racial Justice Movement by Wesley Lowery

I’m heartened by the Black Lives Matter movement, so this book, a journalists point of view as he covered the rise of that movement in reaction to police brutality, was fascinating. Though it was definitely emotionally hard to read at times (I do not have much of a heart for violence), I also think it was important. I read some reviews that faulted it for being biased. If the bias is police brutality is wrong and people should stand up against it, then that’s a bias I’m okay with.

*For the first time in my life, I was the first person to check out a new book at the library! I put it on hold the day it went into the system. Lucky me! I’m usually number 80 or above when a new book comes out.

A Tramp Abroad by Mark Twain

You can’t go wrong with Twain, though I have to say some of the stories in this one are out there even for him. I picked it up specifically because it has “The Awful German Language” in it which had me rolling when I first started studying German.

*I picked this one up at the library.

Moby-Duck: The True Story of 28,800 Bath Toys Lost at Sea and of the Beachcombers, Oceanographers, Environmentalists, and Fools, Including the Author, Who Went in Search of Them by Donovan Hohn

As I write this, I haven’t finished this book yet, but I probably will be done with it before this posts. So far I love the writing style, and since it’s written by a fellow English teacher, I get to enjoy all the literary references.

*My friend loaned this one to me about when my German kick started, so it’s just been sitting on my shelf. I picked it up while I was pulling books off my shelf to donate.

I’ve got another half dozen or so books from the library (both on my Kindle through Overdrive and physical books), so I may take the bus to work this week just to squeeze in some more reading time. I do like driving that electric car of mine, though. For once it’s actually economical not to take the bus! Still, $1.25 is a small price to pay for an hour of uninterrupted reading.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

