Gluten-Free Mediterranean Casserole

I decided to make an old comfort-food favorite for breakfast this morning to use the last of my homemade stock*. The result was more delicious than ever — my stock has definitely been increasing the flavor of the foods I’ve been using it in (I suspect because I didn’t skim off any of the fat). I got this recipe in its gluten-filled form from my old friend’s mother; I have no idea where she got it from. Here’s my version without the gluten (and decidedly less mediterranean):

Ingredients:

1 cup red quinoa

1 small onion

1/4 cup olive oil

1 cup cooked lentils (drained)

1 cup cooked garbanzo beans (drained)

1/4 cup minced parsley

2 cups unsalted stock (important: if you use salted broth, omit the salt below!)

1/4 teaspoon oregano

1 or 1 and 1/2 teaspoons salt (depends on your preference. I usually don’t use all the salt)

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper

Method:

Heat oven to 350 degrees F. Cook quinoa and onion in oil in large skillet until onion is translucent. Add beans, garbanzos, and parsley. Add broth, oregano, salt, and pepper. Bring to a boil and por into a 1 and 1/2 quart baking dish. Cover and bake 45 minutes or until liquid is absorbed. Fluff with fork and return to oven for 2 to 3 minutes.

It’s a kind of monochrome dish (which is why I use red quinoa; at least there’s a hint of color that way), but it’s really delicious, especially with a side of sautĂ©ed chard. It also works well as a side to various meat dishes.

This is nearly a zero-waste dish, but we couldn’t find a whole chicken not wrapped in plastic. 

*I used this recipe for my chicken stock because it looked exactly like the stock my parents used to make with the exception of adding parsley and ACV, but I didn’t make nearly as much as in that recipe. Also, we’d butchered the chicken before cooking, so the carcass I used was raw and there were no pan drippings or skin other than what was on the neck (my husband fried the chicken skin for a snack). I used one chicken carcass, an onion, a head of garlic, a stalk of celery, more herbs than were called for (but still thyme, a bay leaf, and parsley), a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar, and enough water to cover. I cooked it in a crock pot on low for 24 hours, then strained it into mason jars which would have held one cup if I hadn’t had to leave space at the top for freezing. I followed the link’s advice not to add salt and am very glad I did so. I also chose not to add peppercorns for the same reason. So far, it’s been a base to the above, a butternut squash soup, and a sweet potato soup. I like the flavor and mouthfeel of a full-fat stock (I’ve never found one in the store), but if you prefer less fat, follow the instructions to skim off the fat.

This entry was posted in Celiac/Gluten-Free, Plastic-Free Living, Recipes, Zero Waste and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

