I Can’t Believe I Thought That Was Disposable

Rather than buy a bunch of glass jars for the various ingredients and homemade goods in my house (containers I didn’t need before because I was buying packaged gluten-free foods), I’ve decided to repurpose the jars that come into our house by way of sauces and condiments. We don’t go through many, so as of today we’ve collected a whopping three glass jars, all from various pasta sauces. Currently, they’re serving the following uses:

1. Overnight oatmeal container (my roommate’s new thing).
2. Homemade dog treat container (the large pasta sauce container is just the right size)
3. Baking soda container.

I have a lot in bulk bags that I don’t have containers for yet, though, so I’ve been keeping an eye out for good-sized jars. Today I noticed that the jar from Safeway Select’s Roasted Garlic Alfredo Sauce is really nice. The shape is somewhere between square and round, so I imagine a bunch of them would nest snugly in a cupboard. It’s a bit thicker than other sauce containers (including other Safeway Select ones), and it has measuring marks on the side. How cool is that? But, what I don’t understand is why they have bothered if the jar is just to be used once before it’s recycled (or sent to a landfill).

Recently, I started noticing the jars certain foods come in more than the food itself. Winco sells a huge glass jar of pickles (a gallon!) that would be excellent for holding gluten-free flour mixes and costs less than an empty glass jar of similar size.

I have a feeling there will be a lot more alfredo sauce in my future.

This entry was posted in Environmentalism, Plastic-Free Living and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

