Four Weeks In

On December 2nd I posted my plan to learn 100 words a week and build to a 5,000 word active vocabulary by the end on 2014. I’m happy to post that I’m right on track, having learned 400 new words in the four weeks since that December 2nd post. I can’t spell all of them, nor can I always come up with the word if you ask me what it is in English, but I can consistently understand the written or spoken words in and out of context.

I have changed up the materials I’m using a bit because my original plan actually introduced more vocabulary than I could handle (well over 100!). I’m testing out a new plan this week, but I won’t post it until I’ve tried it out next week when school starts up again. Anything I create while on vacation will be necessarily unrealistic during the school year.

Also, I was just e-mailed a discount code from ThaiPod101 that’s pretty decent and brings the program almost down to the price I said I thought was reasonable in my review. I’m contemplating adding that resource to the mix.

This entry was posted in Learning Thai and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Four Weeks In

  1. gigi2377 says:

    I’ve just decided to learn Thai in anticipation of my July holiday, thanks for having an interesting, informative blog about the learning options. It is a bit confusing with all the options available!!

  2. mezzie1024 says:

    I’m glad it’s helpful! There are definitely a lot of options available now, which is awesome, but it does have the downside of making me have to choose (whereas back in 2005 it was Becker and Smyth or nothing, it seemed).

    I’m thinking about getting a subscription to doo tv, but it’ll have to wait until I’ve saved up for a new resource splurge. It’s basically Thai Hulu Plus. Here’s a link if you want to check it out: http://www.mydootv.com

Leave a Reply

